Follow us:

Phone: (061) 377 594

Registered Charity No. 20127978

Castleconnell National School

Welcome to Castleconnell National School

Our school is situated in the heart of the parish of Castleconnell/Ahane/Montpelier in the picturesque village of Castleconnell on the banks of the majestic river Shannon.

Our school is a single stream co-educational school which was built on this site in the 1960’s and extended in the late 1980’s.  The school is characterised by a warm, friendly atmosphere where close partnership with parents and the wider community is seen as a vital ingredient in delivering a quality educational experience to our pupils.  Our students experience all aspects of the curriculum in a balanced approach and are encouraged to develop their individual talents.

The school has grown and developed in recent years and now has over 240 pupils and a staff of 15 teachers and 3 Special Needs Assistants.  Our ancillary staff includes a secretary, caretaker and cleaner.

 We look forward to serving our local community for many years to come.

Mission Statement

We, the community of Castleconnell National School, aspire to create a caring and stimulating environment which celebrates the uniqueness of each member of our school community.

All pupils will be encouraged to recognise and realise their full potential, thus enabling them to embrace with confidence the challenges of life

Richie Ryan

Principal Teacher

Teaching Staff

  • Principal – Mr. Richie Ryan
  • Junior Infants – Ms. Grainne Greene
  • Senior Infants – Mrs. Sinead LeGear
  • First Class – Mrs. Thérése O’ Callaghan (Deputy Principal)
  • Second Class – Mrs. Sinead Bartley
  • Third Class – Ms. Geraldine O’Meara
  • Fourth Class – Mr. Alan Murray
  • Fifth Class – Ms. Lisa Carroll
  • Sixth Class – Mr. Tom Goggin
  • Sixth Class – Ms. Aisling Brody
  • Special Education – Mrs. Avril Jones
  • Special Education – Mrs. Majella Sutton
  • Special Education – Ms. Helen Considine
  • Special Education – Ms. Aisling Hawe
  • Special Education – Ms. Yvonne Murray
  • Special Education – Ms. Carita Conway

Ancillary Staff

  • Special Needs Assistant – Ms. Mary Hassett
  • Special Needs Assistant – Mrs. Sinead Murphy
  • Special Needs Assistant – Mrs. Martina Jones
  • Secretary – Clodagh O’Sullivan
  • Caretaker – Michael Morrissey
  • Cleaner – Mary O’ Brien